Library Events

Join us for upcoming events, classes and programs at Hudson Library & Historical Society! All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.

Did you miss a program? Check out our past event podcasts and videos.

 Limit by event type:
Great Lakes Baking C
Sunday, Dec. 16, 2 p.m..
Join Corina Gaffney, owner of Great Lakes Baking Company when she demonstrates how to make Christstollen, a traditional Christmas sweet bread that contains almonds, raisins, and candied peel, as well as almond paste.
Holiday Music with B
Sunday, Dec. 16, 2 p.m.
Baroque ‘N Glass Wind Quintet, an ensemble of Kent State University graduate students, will play classical and traditional holiday music in the library rotunda. Relax and enjoy the sounds of the season. 
 
Whodunit? Mystery Bo
Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2 p.m.
December's selection is Death on the Nile by the grand dame of mystery and the best selling mystery author of all time Agatha Christie. One of Christie's best-loved Poirot novels, Death on the Nile, will be a major motion picture in 2019 directed by Kenneth Branagh.
Holiday Flower Arran
Thursday, Dec. 20, 10 a.m.
Professional flower arranger Helen Grannetino returns to the Hudson Library & Historical Society to help you design a beautiful floral arrangement for your holiday celebration. Participants will learn how to arrange one dozen festive carnations in a clear glass ginger jar. No previous flower arranging experience is necessary to attend this class. Grannetino will also demonstrate a holiday greens vase. Space is limited. Registration is required in person at the second floor reference desk. A nonrefundable $10 materials fee per person must be paid at the time of registration.

This class is full. Please visit the reference desk or call the library (330-653-6658 x 1010) if you would like to be put on the wait list. 

 
Book Ends Nonfiction
Wednesday, Jan. 2, 7 p.m.
The Hudson Library’s Book Ends Nonfiction Book Club will kick of 2019 by reading American Eclipse: A Nation’s Epic Race to Catch the Shadow of the Moon and Win the Glory of the World. The book follows the true story of solar eclipse hunters in 1878. This event was the first time that astronomers accurately predicted that a total solar eclipse would be observable, by charting its likely path in the western United States. “The stories of these three enterprising scientists reflect the ambition and intellectual curiosity of the United States in the late-nineteenth-century, when the country was trying to cement its place in the international scientific community.” New York Times Book Review.
Website Design with
Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2 p.m.
Learn how to use the free website builder, Wix.com.  Wix offers a simple drag-and-drop approach to website design and gives you everything you need to create a stunning, free website, with no coding skills necessary.

This workshop will be a demonstration of the Wix.com website—participants will not be creating personal websites during the presentation. Prerequisites: Strong mouse, keyboard and web skills.
 
Vegan Cooking Demons
Thursday, Jan. 10, 6:30 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Sonia Steele, author and owner of Urban Sweetness Catering will demonstrate recipes from her book 30 Days Vegan and  will  prepare a vegan jambalaya, tomato tofu bruschetta and a strawberry cheesecake parfait.
Mixed Media Fun: Set
Friday, Jan. 11, 2 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Start the New Year off right by exploring goals, affirmations, and aspirations through art. Join Karen Koch, a local mixed media artist from Uncommon Art, an art studio and gallery on Main Street in Hudson. We’ll talk about our New Year’s intentions, then create a mixed media wallet card that will help you stay inspired all year.  
An Evening with Dr.
Monday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Dr. Michael Roizen, Chief Wellness Officer at the Cleveland Clinic, Chief Medical Consultant on The Dr. Oz Show and author of four #1 New York Times bestselling books, will discuss his latest book, What to Eat When: A Strategic Plan to Improve Your Health and Life Through Food. Roizen will reveal how the food choices you make each day---and when you make them---can affect your health and longevity.
An Evening with Dr.
Monday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
*The Dr. Michael Roizen program is currently full. Spots are still available for the live simulcast in the Teen Room. All are welcome to attend the author meet & greet / book signing in the library rotunda following the program. Dr. Michael Roizen, Chief Wellness Officer at the Cleveland Clinic, Chief Medical Consultant on The Dr. Oz Show and author of four #1 New York Times bestselling books, will discuss his latest book, What to Eat When: A Strategic Plan to Improve Your Health and Life Through Food. Roizen will reveal how the food choices you make each day---and when you make them---can affect your health and longevity.
Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m.
2019’s selections will commence with “Dear Mrs. Bird” by A.J. Pearce. This funny, heartwarming book, set in World War II, is in the vein of “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.” People magazine calls it “A tragicomedy set amid falling bombs, it’s a jaunty, heartbreaking winner.”
Whodunit? Mystery Bo
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2 pm
January’s selection is The Ides of April by Lindsey Davis, and is the first in the historical mystery series set in ancient Rome. A spin off from Davis’ best-selling series featuring Roman informer Marcus Didius Flaco, The Ides of April features Falco’s daughter who has inherited his famed detective skills.
Photoshop Elements
Thursday, Jan. 17, 2 pm

This class will cover many of the tools in Adobe Photoshop Elements. Basic concepts like cropping, resizing and adding different effects to your image will be covered, as well as some tools to manipulate and retouch your photos.Prerequisites: Basic mouse and keyboard skills.
 

Entrepreneurship Ser
Thursday, Jan. 17, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Donna Kastner, founder of Retirepreneur.com, returns to the Hudson Library to discuss freelance work in retirement, even in a part-time capacity. The workshop will focus on freelance launch steps, including legal and financial considerations as well as getting clients, with special focus on content marketing and building referral networks. With digital channels expanding, there’s never been a better time to launch a home-based freelance business, either as a side-gig while you’re still working or as a part-time endeavor in retirement. Come join us and explore steps to activate your freelance plan.
Classical Music For
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2 p.m.
The Classical Music For Everyone Series continues as members of the Akron Symphony Orchestra present works by three musical giants of the Classical Period – Haydn, Mozart and Schubert. The second half of the program will feature works by three lesser-known but influential composers of the Classical Period – Salieri, The Chevalier de Saint Georges and Boccherini. All ages are welcome. No registration is required. 
An Evening with Davi
Monday, Jan. 21, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
On the evening following the total lunar eclipse, acclaimed science journalist David Baron will be discussing the fascinating historical story behind the solar eclipse of 1878 as detailed in his book, American Eclipse: A Nation’s Epic Race to Catch the Shadow of the Moon and Win the Glory of the World. The book tells the true story of three of the most determined eclipse chasers, James Craig Watson, Maria Mitchell, and Thomas Edison, on their race to the Rocky Mountains to witness the event.
Through The Eyes of
Tuesday, Jan. 22, 10 a.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.

The library continues a series of artist biographical lectures when local art historian Felicia Zavarella Stadelman presents the artist Michelangelo. Michelangelo was a sculptor, painter, architect and poet of the Italian Renaissance.  Best known for his sculptures Pietà and David, Michelangelo once said “carving is easy, you just go down to the skin and stop.”  Attendees will all be given an informative postcard that includes facts about the artist’s life. 
 

An Evening with Robi
Tuesday, Jan. 22, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.

Bestselling author Robin Hutton will discuss her latest book, War Animals: The Unsung Heroes of World War II. Hutton brings the animal heroes of World War II to vivid life with the heartwarming and sometimes hilarious history of bona fide heroes of feather and fur.

An Evening with Stev
Wednesday, Jan. 23, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.

Linguist, author, and psychologist Steven Pinker will be speaking about his latest book, Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress. In his book, he urges us to step back from the gory headlines and prophecies of doom to show that life, health, prosperity, safety, peace, knowledge and happiness are on the rise, not just in the West, but worldwide. Bill Gates called Enlightenment Now his “new favorite book of all time.”

Great Lakes Brewing&
Thursday, Jan. 24, 6:30 p.m.
Shelby Costo, pastry chef for Great Lakes Brewing Co. and owner of Sweet Costo Bar, Bakes & Cakes will prepare chocolate shortbread and provide samples of her signature creation, macarons. 
Powered by engagedpatrons.org