Library Events

Join us for upcoming events, classes and programs at Hudson Library & Historical Society! All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.

Did you miss a program? Check out our past event podcasts and videos.

 Limit by event type:
F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
The Natural World of
Monday, Feb. 15,7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
In commemoration of the 90th anniversary of the classic children’s series Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne, garden historian Kathryn Aalto will discuss her book The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood. Aalto will explore the Hundred Acre Wood and its real-life inspiration: the 6,000 acre Ashdown Forest located in southeast England. Take a journey into the home of Pooh, Christopher Robin, and friends as Aalto delves into the literary history of the book, the life of its author, and the forest that inspired it all. The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh was featured on NPR’s All Things Considered and selected as a People Magazine Best New Book Pick. Sponsored by The Hudson Garden Club.
Useful Tools for Win
Wednesday, Feb. 10,2 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Learn how to get the most out of your Windows computer. Different software tools designed to increase the functionality and productivity of Windows will be demonstrated. All software is available for Windows 7 and later. Prerequisites: Basic computer skills.
Facebook for Busines
Wednesday, Feb. 10,7 p.m.
Do you want to use Facebook to promote your business or side project but don’t know where to start? Attend this class and get an introduction to business pages on Facebook at the Hudson Library & Historical Society. This class will help you set up a business page, show you how to post, and examine analytics.
Introduction to 3D P
Thursday, Feb. 11,2 p.m.

Sorry, this program is full. Learn what you can do with 3D printing and get an opportunity to design an object to print out on the library's Makerbot 3D printer. See demonstration of a print and gain hands-on experience with Tinkercad 3D software.

Andy & Don with Auth
Thursday, Feb. 11,7 p.m.
Sorry, this program is full. 
Get the inside story of the real-life friendship between Andy Griffith and Don Knotts, stars of one of America’s most iconic television programs. Daniel de Visé, author of Andy & Don: The Making of a Friendship and a Classic American TV Show, who is also Don Knotts’s brother-in-law, will give insight into the lifelong friendship of the actors and the enduring legacy of The Andy Griffith Show. Registration is required.
 
 
 
Whodunit? Mystery Bo
Tuesday, Feb. 16,2 p.m.
The Whodunit? Mystery Book Club is a book club for mystery lovers. Read and discuss a different mystery novel every month in a relaxed and fun atmosphere. February's selection is G.M. Malliet’s A Fatal Winter: A Max Tudor Novel. Agatha Award-winning author G. M. Malliet’s cozy mysteries are perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny. Library Journal says, “this series shines for its wit, well-drawn characters, pitch-perfect dialog, and intricately structured puzzle.”
Intro to Windows 10
Tuesday, Feb. 16,4 p.m.
Sorry, this program is full. Learn the basics of Windows (navigating the web, opening and  saving documents, downloading and emailing pictures) all while experiencing the unique features of Microsoft’s newest operating system, Windows 10. This is a demonstration class but PCs with Windows 10 will be available to follow along on. Participants are welcome to bring their own laptops or tablets.
 
Digital Magazines
Wednesday, Feb. 17,2 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Library staff will demonstrate how to access materials from the library’s digital magazine collection, including Zinio and Flipster.  Participants are encouraged to bring their own tablet or mobile device for the hands-on learning experience.

Don’t miss this opportunity to learn how to access the library’s free digital magazine collection!  Space is limited, registration is required.  Register online call 330.653.6658 x1010.
 
Professor Steven Hoo
Wednesday, Feb. 17,7 p.m.
The Great Decisions series will discuss the topic of Middle East Alliances. Dr. Steven Hook, professor of political science at Kent State University, will give a presentation and moderate the group discussion. Dr. Hook will share the background and history behind the Middle East Alliances and how the alliances have changed in recent years due to the ever changing political climate of the region.

 
Twitter for Beginner
Thursday, Feb. 18,2 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Stay up on the latest news and trends, and connect with friends. Twitter is a social networking site which allows users to send out updates, post links to interesting articles, photos and more!  Learn how to create an account, send a tweet, retweet, and how to use and search hashtags. Prerequisites: email address, strong mouse, keyboard and web skills.
The Pop Tarts
Sunday, Feb. 21,2 p.m.
In retro 1960s fashion, movement and perfect harmony, The Pop Tarts will perform a decade of top hit favorites. You won’t want to miss this afternoon of groovy tunes from the best of the 1960s girl groups and female pop singers. No registration required
 

 

 
 
Through the Eyes of
Monday, Feb. 22,7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Local art historican Felicia Zavarella Stadelman continues her series of artist biographical lectures with a presentation on the artist Wassily Kandinsky.

Kandinsky was a Russian-born painter that emerged as a leader of the abstract art movement in the early 20th century.  His devotion to inner beauty, passion for life, and spiritual desire was a central theme in his art.  Attendees will all be given an informative postcard that includes facts about the artist’s life.  Register for this free program online at hudsonlibrary.org or call 330.653.6658, x1010. 

 
Runner’s Clini
Tuesday, Feb. 23,7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Attention all runners! The Hudson Library & Historical Society, in partnership with Heinen’s Wellness, will host a Runner’s Clinic. Local area experts will educate the running community on how to improve performance, prevent injuries and alleviate pain through nutrition, apparel, cross-training, yoga, and physical therapy. Speakers include: Libby Ciriello, wellness consultant at Heinen’s, Vince Rucci, owner of Vertical Runner, Janine Laughlin, physical therapist and owner of Healthy Core Wellness & Rehab, Ltd., Lisa Thiel, yoga instructor at Spiritual Life Society, Shawn Lightner, owner and personal trainer at Evolve Fitness, and Charlotte Murray, personal trainer at Evolve Fitness.
 
Following the talk, Lisa Thiel will lead a short yoga class for runners. If you would like to participate in the yoga class, please bring a yoga mat or towel and dress comfortably.
Kindle Fire for Begi
Wednesday, Feb. 24,2:00 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Library staff will go over the basics of using your Kindle Fire, including navigating, browsing the internet, downloading and using apps, and using your Kindle Fire as an e-reader. A demonstration on how to download materials from the library’s e-media collection, such as e-books and audiobooks, will be included. This class will be geared toward beginners, but more advanced users may learn a thing or two. Bring your Kindle Fire and your questions!
iPad for Beginners
Wednesday, Feb. 24,7:00 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Learn the basics of using your iPad, including navigating, downloading and deleting apps, and accessing the internet. A demonstration on downloading e-media (e-books and recorded books) from the library’s e-media collection using the OverDrive app will be included. This class will be geared toward beginners, but more advanced users may learn a thing or two. Bring your iPad and your questions. Please bring your iPad, Apple ID and Apple ID password.
Secrets of a Profess
Thursday, Feb. 25,6:30 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Learn the of professional chefs to improve your own cooking with Chef Jenn Stoker .  Chef Stoker will reveal the best ways to add flavor and texture to any main dish and will offer strategies to enhance the way your food will look and cook. 
Research Databases f
Saturday, Feb. 27,10 a.m.

Learn to use premium databases to find valuable company and industry information for your job search networking and interviewing activities. This class will cover six databases including Business Insights: EssentialBusiness Source Premiere, First Research, Hoover’s, LexisNexis andReference USA.  
Chamber Music with E
Sunday, Feb. 28,2 p.m.
Composed of a woodwind quintet and an alto saxophonist from northeast Ohio, Ekklésia
Ensemble will  perform chamber music repertoire featuring works by Dubois, Hartley, Milhaud and others. All ages are welcome and there is no registration for this free program.
 

 
Entrepreneurship Ser
Wednesday, Mar. 2,6:30 p.m.

An effective pitch can help your business get off the ground. Learn what makes a pitch work with Dr. Scott Shane of Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Shane will share the initial findings of PITCH U, an experiment to identify the best training to enhance performance at pitching new venture ideas to early stage investors.
 


 
<i>Reagan: the Life<
Thursday, Mar. 3,7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
New York Times bestselling historian H. W. Brands will talk about his newest book Reagan: The Life, the definitive biography of President Ronald Reagan. Using new archival sources and interviews, Brands delves into the life and legacy of the 40th U.S. President. The Dallas Morning News called the book “Superb…it is hard to imagine a biography of Ronald Reagan that could be more thorough, evenhanded and insightful.” 
Powered by engagedpatrons.org Powered by engagedpatrons.org