Library Events

Join us for upcoming events, classes and programs at Hudson Library & Historical Society! All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.

Did you miss a program? Check out our past event podcasts and videos.

 Limit by event type:
The Big 5 Show Band
Sunday, Nov. 18, 2 p.m.
Come enjoy classic hits made famous by the likes of Tom Petty, Neil Young, The Byrds, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Tommy James and the Shondells and many more. The band will feature a tribute to the British Invasion with covers of hits by the Beatles, Herman’s Hermits, The Dave Clark Five, The Who and others. The band’s tight vocal harmonies and authentic instruments are a blast from the past and sure to delight audiences of all ages. No registration is required.

 
Flower Arranging wit
Monday, Nov. 19, 10 a.m.
Professional flower arranger Helen Grannetino returns to the Hudson Library & Historical Society to help you design a beautiful floral arrangement in a favorite mug for your Thanksgiving celebration. Please be sure to bring your own mug for this class. No previous flower arranging experience is necessary to attend. Grannetino will also demonstrate some great ideas for entertaining including ideas for punch bowl and buffet decorations.

Space is limited. Registration is required in person at the second floor reference desk. A nonrefundable $5 materials fee per person must be paid at the time of registration. 

This class and the wait list are full.

 
Meditation
Monday, Nov. 19, 10 a.m.
Back by popular demand, members of the Center for Health, Happiness, and Chan, a local non-religious, non-profit organization, will lead morning meditation classes. Learn how to pay more attention to your existence in the present moment and use the breath as the anchor point to calm and balance the mind. Beginners welcome at every class!

Register for each session online or call 330.653.6658 x1010.  
Whodunit? Mystery Bo
Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2 p.m.
November's selection is Crime and Poetry by USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower. Flower is an Agatha Award-winning author, and Library Journal wrote of the novel, "Flower... launches a delightful new cozy series populated with fun and quirky characters. This first adventure promises pleasures to come."
Holiday Card Craft
Tuesday, Nov. 27, 10 a.m.
Crafter Jane Nied will help you design six beautiful cards for the holidays using various embellishments and employing a number of techniques including die cutting and dry embossing. Space is limited. Registration is required in person at the second floor reference desk. A nonrefundable $10 materials fee per person must be paid at the time of registration.

 
Hudson Writers Writi
Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7 p.m.

Do you like to write? Are you looking for a group of fellow writers with whom to share your work and writing goals? Join Hudson Writers, the library's writing critique group. Whether you write for fun or have dreams of being published, this group is the place where you can share your work and receive feedback from others. All genres and writing styles are welcome.

Hudson Writers will meet in Brewster Café on the last Wednesday of every month.

No registration is required.

Appetizers at the Hu
Thursday, Nov. 29, 6:30 p.m.

Just in time for the holidays, learn now to make mouth-watering appetizers  with Executive Chef Rick Bennett.

Chef Bennett has cooked at Cleveland’s Lola Bistro, Massachusetts’ Back Bay Social Club, Downtown 140 and and he helped to open One Red Door and FlipSide. 

Chardon Polka Band H
Sunday, Dec. 2, 2 p.m.
Not your average polka band! Join the Chardon Polka Band for a holiday concert featuring tunes from their album, Polka Round the Christmas Tree, as well as traditional polkas, original pieces and polka-pop covers of popular artists. All ages are welcome. No registration. 
 
Seasonal 3D Printing
Thursday, Dec. 6, 2pm
or call (330) 653-6658.
Design a seasonal 3D object such as cookie cutters, ornaments, decorations and more to print on our Makergear M2 3D printer. Get an opportunity to see a 3D printer in action and gain hands-on experience with Tinkercad 3D design software. Prerequisites: Strong mouse and keyboard skills.
Cooking for the Keto
Thursday, Dec. 6, 6:30 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.
Join chef and farmer, Ben Bebenroth to learn how to cook for the Keto Diet. The ketogenic diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet. 
Paint Your Own Seaso
Friday, Dec. 7, 10 a.m.
Just in time for the holidays, design and paint your own seasonal salvaged wood sign to add to your holiday décor. Local artist Kimmy Henderson will guide you in making your very own masterpiece-you choose the design, words and colors.  No painting skills needed, only a willingness to be free and have fun.   

Space is limited and registration is required for this program.  A $10 nonrefundable materials fee is due at registration at the second floor Reference desk.  For more information, call the Reference desk at 330-653-6658 x1010.  
Hudson Middle School
Sunday, Dec. 9, 2 p.m.
The Hudson Library & Historical Society Music Series continues with a concert by the Hudson Middle School Orchestra. Led by longtime Hudson schools music instructor Roberto Iriarte, the orchestra will perform works by Handel, Haydn, and Brahms as well as holiday favorites from around the globe. No registration is required for this free program. 
 
An Evening with Auth
Monday, Dec. 10, 7 p.m.
or call (330) 653-6658.

Sheila Tate, press secretary to former First Lady Nancy Reagan, will discuss her latest book, Lady in Red: An Intimate Portrait of Nancy Reagan. The book offers a rare and much-anticipated look into the personal life of the president’s wife, from her daily routines and travels as First Lady to her friendships and deep influence in the Reagan White House. 

Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Dec. 10, 7 p.m.
"The Woman in the Window" by A.J. Finn will be discussed on December 10th. The Washington Post proclaims the book to be “a riveting thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last sentence.”
Great Lakes Baking C
Sunday, Dec. 16, 2 p.m..
or call (330) 653-6658.
Join Corina Gaffney, owner of Great Lakes Baking Company when she demonstrates how to make Christstollen, a traditional Christmas sweet bread that contains almonds, raisins, and candied peel, as well as almond paste.
Whodunit? Mystery Bo
Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2 p.m.
December's selection is Death on the Nile by the grand dame of mystery and the best selling mystery author of all time Agatha Christie. One of Christie's best-loved Poirot novels, Death on the Nile, will be a major motion picture in 2019 directed by Kenneth Branagh.
Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Jan. 14, 7 p.m.
2019’s selections will commence with “Dear Mrs. Bird” by A.J. Pearce. This funny, heartwarming book, set in World War II, is in the vein of “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.” People magazine calls it “A tragicomedy set amid falling bombs, it’s a jaunty, heartbreaking winner.”
Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Feb. 11, 7 p.m.
The winner of the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, “Less” by Andrew Sean Greer, will be discussed at the February meeting. Called “Brilliantly funny” by The Washington Post, “Less” is the epitome of satire, with the subject being An American Abroad.
Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Mar. 11, 7 p.m.
Set in Japan, the family saga “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee, was a finalist for the National Book Award and voted a Top Ten Book of 2017 by New York Times Book Review as well as USA Today. The book will be the focus of the March meeting.
Between the Lines Bo
Monday, Apr. 8, 7 p.m.
In April, the group will turn their attention to Michael Ondaatje’s “Warlight,” This post-WWII thriller set in London is called “Mezmerizing… this novel about secrets and loss may be Ondaatje’s best work yet.” (Publisher’s Weekly, starred review)
Powered by engagedpatrons.org