Library Events

Join us for upcoming events, classes and programs at Hudson Library & Historical Society! All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.

Did you miss a program? Check out our past event podcasts and videos.

 Limit by event type:
In-Person Teen Libra
Saturday, Dec. 4, 10:00 a.m.
Welcome back! The Teen Library Council is made up of teens age 11-18 who wish to participate in decisions being made for teens in the library. The council meets once a month and discusses possible teen programs, teen recommendations and recommends new books for the YA collection. The council also volunteers in the children's department for events and other tasks the department needs help with. Registration is required. Masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs and volunteer opportunities. 
In-Person Kids Care:
Saturday, Dec. 4, 3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Have fun while giving back to our community during this holiday season! 

On Saturday December 4 from 3-4:30 p.m., we will be making blankets for shelter animals and donating them to the Summit County Humane Society. Fleece fabric will be provided. Please note that all attendees must wear a face mask for the duration of the program, regardless of vaccination status. For children in grades 2-6. Registration is required.
Virtual Homework Con
Monday, Dec. 6, 6:30-8:00

Homework getting you down? Need some help? Then sign up for this free tutoring program, for middle school and high school students. Students from the Hudson High School’s National Honor Society volunteer their services for this program. The library is pleased to partner with the schools in this community outreach effort.

Registration is required each session to receive the Zoom link. The Zoom link will be sent the day of the program. 

Homework connections meets Mondays from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and  Wednesdays from  4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Zoom. For Teens grades 6 and up

Virtual Afternoon Ad
Tuesday, Dec. 7, 4:45 p.m.-5:30 p.m.

New Time: 4:45 - 5:30 p.m.
Children are invited to a monthly exploration of Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math. We'll meet on Zoom, share a story or two then end with an craft.
Registration is required.  For Grades K-2.

Virtual Chapter Chat
Tuesday, Dec. 7, 6:15 p.m.
Kids in grades 1-4 are invited to join our chapter book program, Chapter Chatter. In this four-part series, we will get together on Zoom to relax and listen to a chapter book (with brief discussion before and after each session). Our December book will be  The Crossover by Kwame Alexander. Each session will last an average of 45 minutes.
VIRTUAL: <em>Cooking
Tuesday, Dec. 7, 7 p.m.
The library will host a live virtual cooking program with Tracey Korsen, author of Cooking with 5 Ingredients from Trader Joe's. Korsen will demonstrate how to easily transform your favorite Trader Joe’s products into delicious meals. Tracey will demonstrate how to make her one-pot orzo, perfect for beginners or those looking for a quick and delicious dinner. 
Virtual Homework Con
Wednesday, Dec. 8, 4:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Homework getting you down? Need some help? Then sign up for this free tutoring program, for middle school and high school students. Students from the Hudson High School’s National Honor Society volunteer their services for this program. The library is pleased to partner with the schools in this community outreach effort.

Registration is required each session to receive the Zoom link. The Zoom link will be sent the day of the program. 

Homework connections meets Mondays from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and  Wednesdays from  4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Zoom. For Teens grades 6 and up

Goblins & Galaxies S
Wednesday, Dec. 8, 7 p.m.

On Wednesday, December 8 at 7 p.m., The Hudson Library’s Goblins & Galaxies, a Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Club, will discuss The Broken Sword by Poul Anderson, perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. Set during the 10th century England, Poul’s story centers around Skafloc and his sister Freda as they fight against the invading troll armies, amid tragedy and triumph for all the characters involved. 

In-Person Evening Fa
Wednesday, Dec. 8, 7:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Families are invited to join us at the library for Evening Family Storytime! We will share stories and rhymes before bedtime. Jammies and stuffies are not required but are definitely encouraged! This storytime is geared toward children ages 2-5, but all are welcome. 

Registration is required for each child attending, and registration will be separate for each session. Join us as often as you are able!

Face masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs (regardless of vaccination status). Social distancing will also be followed. Caregivers must attend this program with their children. 
Virtual Lego Club
Thursday, Dec. 9, 4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Lego enthusiasts in grades 1-5 are invited to join our virtual Lego Club! Each month we will meet on Zoom to talk about Legos, share what we’ve been working on, catch up on Lego news, and of course build some Lego creations! Any type of plastic bricks will work (Legos or others).

Registration is required separately each month, although monthly attendance is not required. Join us as often as you are able! 
In-Person Kindermusi
Friday, Dec. 10, 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Kindermusik is the leading music and movement program for children in early childhood development. We offer three sessions in-person at the library, all with a licensed Kindermusik teacher: ages 0-2 (with a caregiver) at 9:30 and 10:30, and ages 3-5 (with a caregiver) at 11:30. Registration is required. Please register each child (no adult registration needed).

Face masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs (regardless of vaccination status). Social distancing will also be followed. Caregivers must attend this program with their children. 

In-Person Kindermusi
Friday, Dec. 10, 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Kindermusik is the leading music and movement program for children in early childhood development. We offer three sessions in-person at the library, all with a licensed Kindermusik teacher: ages 0-2 (with a caregiver) at 9:30 and 10:30, and ages 3-5 (with a caregiver) at 11:30. Registration is required. Please register each child (no adult registration needed).

Face masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs (regardless of vaccination status). Social distancing will also be followed. Caregivers must attend this program with their children. 

In-Person Kindermusi
Friday, Dec. 10, 11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Kindermusik is the leading music and movement program for children in early childhood development. We offer three sessions in-person at the library, all with a licensed Kindermusik teacher: ages 0-2 (with a caregiver) at 9:30 and 10:30, and ages 3-5 (with a caregiver) at 11:30. Registration is required. Please register each child (no adult registration needed).

Face masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs (regardless of vaccination status). Social distancing will also be followed. Caregivers must attend this program with their children. 

In-Person Tail Waggi
Monday, Dec. 13, 4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Kids are invited to visit the library and practice their reading skills with a real dog! All dogs are certified therapy dogs, and they enjoy all types of children’s books! The program is one hour, with 15-minute time slots for each family. We will meet in the children’s department, and you will sign up for a time slot when you arrive. Registration is required once per family. 

Face masks are required for all attendees 2-years-old and older for in-person library programs (regardless of vaccination status). Social distancing will also be followed. You will be able to pet the dogs!
 
Virtual Homework Con
Monday, Dec. 13, 6:30-8:00

Homework getting you down? Need some help? Then sign up for this free tutoring program, for middle school and high school students. Students from the Hudson High School’s National Honor Society volunteer their services for this program. The library is pleased to partner with the schools in this community outreach effort.

Registration is required each session to receive the Zoom link. The Zoom link will be sent the day of the program. 

Homework connections meets Mondays from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and  Wednesdays from  4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Zoom. For Teens grades 6 and up

Virtual Chapter Chat
Tuesday, Dec. 14, 6:15 p.m.
Kids in grades 1-4 are invited to join our chapter book program, Chapter Chatter. In this four-part series, we will get together on Zoom to relax and listen to a chapter book (with brief discussion before and after each session). Our December book will be  The Crossover by Kwame Alexander. Each session will last an average of 45 minutes.
Virtual Polar Expres
Tuesday, Dec. 14, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
All aboard for a Hudson Library family favorite: The Polar Express! Families are invited to join us virtually this year, live on Zoom, for this very special holiday program of crafts, songs, and a reading of Chris Van Allsburg’s award-winning book, The Polar Express, plus a message from a surprise guest! 

Registration is required! Choose from one of three sessions: Tuesday December 14 at 7 p.m., Thursday December 16 at 7 p.m., or Saturday December 18 at 11 a.m.

Program bags will be available for pickup during the week prior to the event. Please register for only one session, and please register once per family.
Virtual Homework Con
Wednesday, Dec. 15, 4:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Homework getting you down? Need some help? Then sign up for this free tutoring program, for middle school and high school students. Students from the Hudson High School’s National Honor Society volunteer their services for this program. The library is pleased to partner with the schools in this community outreach effort.

Registration is required each session to receive the Zoom link. The Zoom link will be sent the day of the program. 

Homework connections meets Mondays from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and  Wednesdays from  4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Zoom. For Teens grades 6 and up

Virtual Book Club: <
Wednesday, Dec. 15, 7 p.m.
The virtual book club will discuss The Huntress by Kate Quinn, bestselling author of The Alice Network. In The Huntress, a Russian female bomber pilot in World War II teams up with an English journalist to track down a Nazi war criminal who escaped to America. Susan Meissner, bestselling author of As Bright as Heaven, said "Prepare to be spellbound! The Huntress masterfully draws you in and doesn't let you go. Another brilliant work of historical fiction by the incomparable Kate Quinn."  
Virtual Polar Expres
Thursday, Dec. 16, 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
All aboard for a Hudson Library family favorite: The Polar Express! Families are invited to join us virtually this year, live on Zoom, for this very special holiday program of crafts, songs, and a reading of Chris Van Allsburg’s award-winning book, The Polar Express, plus a message from a surprise guest! 

Registration is required! Choose from one of three sessions: Tuesday December 14 at 7 p.m., Thursday December 16 at 7 p.m., or Saturday December 18 at 11 a.m.

Program bags will be available for pickup during the week prior to the event. Please register for only one session, and please register once per family.
Powered by engagedpatrons.org