Call the Library: 330.673.4414

Kent Free Library Events

Join us for upcoming events at Kent Free Library. All events are free and open to the public. Registration is required where noted.
 Limit by audience:
Virtual Pokémon Palo
Saturday, Jul. 24, 11:00 a.m.
Calling all Pokémon fans ages 14 and under, join us on Zoom on Saturday, July 24 at 11 a.m. for Pokémon Palooza! Have you missed Pokémon Club as much as we have? Join us to talk about Pokémon, show and tell your coolest cards and more! Registration is required and begins one week prior to the meeting. Registrants will receive an email containing the Zoom link 30 minutes prior to the start of the program. 
Walk and Talk for Pa
Monday, Jul. 26, 9:00 a.m.
Parents with children that can ride in a stroller are invited to join us for a walking program on Monday mornings at Tannery Park. We will meet at Tannery Park and complete a 30 to 45 minute walk. This is a great opportunity to meet other parents with small children and get in some exercise! Registration is required for each meeting. Registration begins one week in advance of each meeting. Registrants will be notified via telephone or email if meetings are cancelled due to inclement weather. 
Virtual Family Story
Monday, Jul. 26, 10:30 a.m.
Families with children of all ages are invited to join us for virtual story time filled with songs, stories and rhymes! Weekly registration is required and begins one week in advance of each meeting. 
Virtual Books and Co
Monday, Jul. 26, 4:00 p.m.
Children ages 6 to 12 are invited to join us via Zoom to make a recipe together! Registration begins one week in advance of each meeting. Registrants will receive an ingredient list on the Friday before our meeting and a Zoom link to the meeting 30 minutes prior to the meeting start time. Registration is required. 
Virtual Tales and Tr
Tuesday, Jul. 27, 4:00 p.m.
Children entering kindergarten through 2nd grade in the 2021-2022 school year are welcome to join us on Tuesdays at 4 p.m. During the 30-minute program, a librarian will read a few chapters from a book to you, then you'll play a game or complete an activity together. You will receive an email containing the Zoom information 30 minutes prior to the program start time. Registration is required each week. 
Virtual Pajama Story
Tuesday, Jul. 27, 7:00 p.m.
Families with children of all ages are invited to join us for evening story time on Tuesdays at 7 p.m. Registration is required weekly and begins one week in advance of each meeting. 
Virtual Brunch Bunch
Wednesday, Jul. 28, 11:00 a.m.
Children ages 3 to 6 years old are welcome to join us on Zoom for story time fun! Share your breakfast or lunch with some Kent Free Library friends while listening to stories, singing songs, counting and more! Registration is required weekly and begins one week in advance of each meeting. Registrants will receive an email containing the Zoom link 30 minutes prior to the start of the program. 
Virtual Backyard Bir
Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2:00 p.m.
Youth entering Kindergarten through 5th grade are invited to join us on Zoom to learn all about birds! Each week participants will learn facts about a different bird and complete a variety of fun activities! Registration is required weekly and begins one week prior to the meeting date. 
Minecraft
Wednesday, Jul. 28, 4:00 p.m.
Students enter grades 1 through 6 are invited to join us on Zoom for our Minecraft stream to help us create our own Minecraft world. Participants can join in on the fun with their own Minecraft accounts. Registration is required weekly and begins one week prior to each meeting. Zoom links will be emailed to registered participants 30 minutes prior to the start of the program. 
Story Time in the Pa
Thursday, Jul. 29, 10:30 a.m.
Families are invited to join us for story time in person at the Backwoods Stage in Fred Fuller Park! Grab your picnic blanket or lawn chairs and join us for stories, songs and sunshine! Participants can use musical props-shakers and scarves-that the library provides, or bring their own from home. Registration is not required. 
Virtual Animal Tails
Thursday, Jul. 29, 4:00 p.m.
Students entering grades 2-5 are invited to join us for some virtual animal fun! At Animal Tails and Treats, we'll explore the seven continents by reading about some of the animals that live on each one and enjoying a treat from one of its countries. Particpants can come pick up the weekly themed treat from the Youth Services Department after registering for the meeting. 
Virtual Family Story
Friday, Jul. 30, 10:30 a.m.
Families with children of all ages are invited to join us on Zoom for stories, songs and rhymes! Registration is required weekly and begins one week in advance of each meeting. 
Bring the Farm to Yo
Saturday, Jul. 31, 2:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Families with children of all ages, are invited to join us for a specai visit from real life farm animals! Interact with chickens, ducks, rabbits, turkeys, sheep goats and more! Penguin Ice Cream will also be here from 1 to 3 p.m. dishing up eight different ice cream flavors and toppings! This event will be held outside in the grassy area surrounding the library parking lot. Ice cream will be available on a first come first served basis. 
Read Together Book G
Wednesday, Aug. 4, 7:00 p.m.

Students entering grades 3 through 6 are welcome to participate in the Read Together Book Group! Each month participants read one book selected by the group members the month before. On the first Wednesday of each month, we meet to discuss and choose a book for the following month. Caregivers are welcome to read the selections as well and join in on the meetings and discussions! The book selection for this meeting is listed below.

Hello Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Told from four intertwining points of view-two boys and two girls-the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. 

Story Time in the Pa
Thursday, Aug. 5, 10:30 a.m.
Families are invited to join us for story time in person at the Backwoods Stage in Fred Fuller Park! Grab your picnic blanket or lawn chairs and join us for stories, songs and sunshine! Participants can use musical props-shakers and scarves-that the library provides, or bring their own from home. Registration is not required. 
Virtual Animal Tails
Thursday, Aug. 12, 4:00 p.m.
Students entering grades 2-5 are invited to join us for some virtual animal fun! At Animal Tails and Treats, we'll explore the seven continents by reading about some of the animals that live on each one and enjoying a treat from one of its countries. Particpants can come pick up the weekly themed treat from the Youth Services Department after registering for the meeting. 
Virtual Animal Tails
Thursday, Aug. 19, 4:00 p.m.
Students entering grades 2-5 are invited to join us for some virtual animal fun! At Animal Tails and Treats, we'll explore the seven continents by reading about some of the animals that live on each one and enjoying a treat from one of its countries. Particpants can come pick up the weekly themed treat from the Youth Services Department after registering for the meeting. 
Read Together Book G
Wednesday, Sep. 1, 7:00 p.m.

Students entering grades 3 through 6 are welcome to participate in the Read Together Book Group! Each month participants read one book selected by the group members the month before. On the first Wednesday of each month, we meet to discuss and choose a book for the following month. Caregivers are welcome to read the selections as well and join in on the meetings and discussions! The book selection for this meeting is listed below.

 

Last Day On Mars by Kevin Emerson

 

It is Earth year 2213-but, of course, there is no Earth anymore. Not since it was burned to a cinder by the sun, which has mysteriously begun the process of going supernova. The human race has fled to Mars, but this was only a temporary solution while we have prepared for a second trip: a one-hundred-fifty-year journey to a distant star, our best guess at where we might find a new home.

Liam Saunders-Chang is one of the last humans left on Mars. The son of two scientists who have been racing against time to create technology vital to humanity's survival, Liam, along with his friend Phoebe, will be on the last starliner to depart before Mars, like Earth before it, is destroyed. Or so he thinks. Because before this day is over, Liam and Phoebe will make a series of profound discoveries about the nature of time and space and find out that the human race is just one of many in our universe locked in a dangerous struggle for survival.

Read Together Book G
Wednesday, Oct. 6, 7:00 p.m.

Students entering grades 3 through 6 are welcome to participate in the Read Together Book Group! Each month participants read one book selected by the group members the month before. On the first Wednesday of each month, we meet to discuss and choose a book for the following month. Caregivers are welcome to read the selections as well and join in on the meetings and discussions! The book selection for this meeting is listed below.

 

Curse Of The Night Witch by Alex Aster

 

A fast-paced series starter perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and filled with adventure, mythology, and an unforgettable trio of friends.

On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend it.

Twelve-year-old Tor Luna was born with a leadership emblem, just like his mother. But he hates his mark and is determined to choose a different path for himself. So, on the annual New Year's Eve celebration, where Emblemites throw their wishes into a bonfire in the hopes of having them granted, Tor wishes for a different power.

The next morning Tor wakes up to discover a new marking on his skin...the symbol of a curse that has shortened his lifeline, giving him only a week before an untimely death. There is only one way to break the curse, and it requires a trip to the notorious Night Witch.

With only his village's terrifying, ancient stories as a guide, and his two friends Engle and Melda by his side, Tor must travel across unpredictable Emblem Island, filled with wicked creatures he only knows through myths, in a race against his dwindling lifeline.

Powered by engagedpatrons.org

Find Us:

Kent Free Library
312 West Main Street
Kent, OH 44240
330.673.4414
[email protected]
www.kentfreelibrary.org

Library Hours:

Monday 9:00-8:00
Tuesday 9:00-8:00
Wednesday 9:00-8:00
Thursday 9:00-8:00
Fridays 9:00-6:00
Saturday 9:00-5:00
Sundays closed

Connect: