Takoma Park Maryland Library

Takoma Park Maryland Library Programs

Join us for upcoming programs at the library or online
All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.

Interested in a children's program? Register each child individually, under the child's name, and please indicate age.
F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
Yard Dramas @ Crossr
Crossroads Farmers' Market
Wednesday, Aug. 3, 11:00 AM

Join Yard Dramas--an interactive, outdoor storytime program for the whole family--at the Crossroads Farmers' Market!

When? Wednesdays at 11:00 AM

Where? Crossroads Farmers Market Anne St & University Blvd E, Takoma Park, MD. Next to Mega Mart.

IN-PERSON PROGRAM

F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
SNAP / Food Stamp Ed
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 7:00 PM

Takoma Park Maryland Library has partnered with CHEER (Community Health and Empowerment Through Education and Research) to offer a SNAP / Food Stamp Education Workshop.

The event will be on Wednesday, August 24, at 7:00 PM in the Azalea Room at the Community Center (7500 Maple Ave, Takoma Park, MD 20912).

P
resentations will be given in English, Spanish, French, and Amharic. 


IN-PERSON PROGRAM

Mask wearing encouraged.

 

Sponsored by CHEER (Community Health and Empowerment Through Education and Research).
F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
Meet the Authors: Ca
Friday, Sep. 9, 6:00 PM

Takoma Park Maryland Library, Takoma Park Recreation, and Politics & Prose invite you to:

Meet Miami Heat assistant coach and former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and critically acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds, as they present their new middle grade book SHOT CLOCK!

This event will be held in the cafeteria at Takoma Park Middle School (7611 Piney Branch Rd, Takoma Park, MD 20912).

Free event. Open to all.
Snacks will be served.
Book sale and signing to follow.

About SHOT CLOCK:

Former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds tip off the first book in a new middle grade series about a young boy trying to make his mark on an AAU basketball team coached by a former NBA star in his hometown. Perfect for fans of The Crossover and the Track series. A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

IN-PERSON PROGRAM

Mask wearing encouraged.

Sponsored by Politics & Prose and Takoma Park Recreation.
F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
Meet the Author: Hen
Tuesday, Oct. 18, 7:00 PM

Meet Hena Khan at the public launch event of the second book in her Zara's Rules series, titled Zara's Rules for Finding Hidden Treasure

Free event. Book sale and signing to follow. 

About Zara's Rules for Finding Hidden Treasure

The second book in this delightful middle grade series follows Zara as she starts her own business!

Zara lives for bike rides with her friends—so when her shiny, brand-new bike goes missing from the park one day, she’s crushed. After her parents insist she earn the money for another one herself, Zara’s determined to start a business. But what kind? A lemonade stand? Not profitable enough. Selling painted rocks? Not enough customers.

Zara’s starting to get discouraged when she and her friend Naomi finally come up with the perfect idea: The Treasure Wagon, a roving garage sale that unloads knickknacks from the Saleem family basement and makes money all at once! But when a mix-up gets Zara in hot water again, will she have to give up everything she’s earned toward her new bike?

IN-PERSON PROGRAM

Mask wearing encouraged. 

Sponsored by Politics & Prose.
Online
Saturday, Jan. 1
Register here if you are having problems with your library card number or have questions about your account. Be sure to give us your preferred e-mail address, the one you want us to use in contacting you. We can do renewals, verify new cards, etc.

Your actual name and address should match whatever we have on record.
Neighborhood Circle
Weekly: Wednesdays

The last Neighborhood Circle Time of the season will be August 24! 

The library is entering a renovation space and the building will close on Wednesday, August 24, 2022, at 8:00 PM. You can find more details here.

Please register to receive a notification when we resume--see you later!


--

Join Ms. Kati and Ms. Verónica on Wednesday mornings at 10:30 AM for our Neighborhood Circle Time. Enjoy songs, rhymes, fingerplays, movement games, and stories!


Bring a blanket and meet us outdoors at the Library's Front Lawn.

IF IT RAINS OR IS EXCESSIVELY HOT IN AUGUST, WE WILL CANCEL. 

IN-PERSON PROGRAM
Canta Juego: Spanish
Weekly: Thursdays

Señora Geiza will take a well deserved vacation, and we will not have Canta Juego on August 18 nor August 25. ¡Nos vemos en septiembre!

--

¡Canciones y juegos en español!


Join Señora Geiza every Thursday morning at 10:30 AM for fun songs, movement exercises, and games in Spanish.

Join Online!
Go to https://zoom.us/ Then put in Meeting ID: 959-5178-5847 and Meeting Password: 793725.

ONLINE PROGRAM

Sponsored by Friends of the Takoma Park Maryland Library.
Scribbler’s Ca
Weekly: Thursdays

Scribbler's Cabal: Sketch Club is on hiatus until futher notice!

The library is entering a renovation space and the building will close on Wednesday, August 24, 2022, at 8:00 PM. You can find more details here.

Please register to receive a notification when we resume--see you later!

Kids’ Art
Monthly
Art activities for kids and their families. Create at the library in the Children's Room or get supplies to-go.

IN-PERSON PROGRAM


Mask wearing encouraged.

Sunday, August 14, 1:00-2:00: Get ready for Kindergarten storytime and activities.
 
August 21, 1:00-3:00, 1:00-3:00

LEGO Club is back! Drop in and free play with Duplo and MegaBloks (for younger kids) and traditional LEGO (for kids over 3.)
We also have many LEGO books and LEGO Club Magazine that kids can use for inspiration.

Please don't bring your own LEGO materials or creations!

Thank you to the Friends of the Takoma Park Maryland Library (and a few generous patrons) for supplying us with the materials for this event!

IN-PERSON PROGRAM

Mask wearing encouraged.

Sponsored by Friends of the Takoma Park Maryland Library.
Powered by engagedpatrons.org
THE LIBRARY IS A DEPARTMENT OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK
Contact the director by e-mail