banner

Library Events

Join us for upcoming events, classes and programs at Canton Public Library! All events are free and open to the public. Registration required where noted.
 Limit by audience:
F E A T U R E D   E V E N T
LOG your Summer Read
Canton Public Library
Saturday, Aug. 19 (From June 26 to August 19, 2017)
School-aged Children and Teens can sign up online to create their SUMMER READING LOGS at the Canton Public Library.  You can log your reading from June 22 through August 19, and earn rewards for every 100 minutes you read.  

Rewards are available now at the Canton Public Library's Children's Desk, and the Summer Reading Pool Party bracelets have arrived (Grades 1-6).

TEENS (entering Grade 7 - Grade 12): CLICK HERE to create your log or add to it.
Kids Entering GRADE 1 and GRADE 2CLICK HERE to create your log or add to it.
Kids Entering GRADE 3 and GRADE 4CLICK HERE  to create your log or add to it.
Kids Entering GRADE 5 and GRADE 6CLICK HERE  to create your log or add to it.

  Sponsored by A Grant from the Connecticut State Library and the Friends of the Canton Public Library.
Tuesday Afternoon Ma
Canton Public Library
Tuesday, Aug. 22, 1:15 pm (Tuesdays, July 25, August 8 & 22, 1:15 pm)
Watch a movie with popcorn and a drink for free! Showing in Room B in the air-conditioned library/community center; recommended for adults or ages 13 and up. Presented in cooperation with the Canton Senior Center. Free; no registration necessary.  Call for information and movie title: (860) 693-5800.

7/25/2017 -
Silver Linings Playbook (2012), romantic comedy drama (Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, R).
8/8/2017 - The Amazing Spider-Man (2012), action/adventure fantasy (Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, PG-13).
8/22/2017 - The Wizard of Oz (1939), fantasy adventure (Judy Garland, Ray Bolger, G).

 
Nutmeg Book Club
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Aug. 23, 6:30 p.m. (The Fourth Wednesday of the Month at 6:30 p.m.)
or call --860-693-5800.

New This Summer

Read (or listen) to the book ahead of time and join in the discussion with Children’s Programmer Sarah Prattson. Borrow a copy of at the library. Includes a snack and a book-themed craft.  For children entering Grade 4 –6, or those with Sarah’s “OK”. Registration is required. 
Wednesdays at 6:30 pm
June 28: The Tapper Twins Go To War by Geoff Rodkey
July 26: Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
 
Chillin’ at th
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Aug. 30, 1:15 pm (Every other Wednesday on 7/5, 7/19, 8/2, 8/16, and 8/30/2017)
Watch a recent movie with popcorn and a drink for free! Showing in Room B in the air-conditioned library/community center; recommended for adults or ages 13 and up. Presented in cooperation with the Canton Senior Center. Free; no registration necessary. 

The Vow (2012), romantic drama (Rachel McAdams, Channing Tatum, PG 13), 7/5/2017

Snow White and the Huntsman (2012), action/adventure fantasy  (PG-13, Kristin Stewart, Chris Hemsworth), 7/19/2017
Zookeeper (2011), romance/comedy (Kevin James, Rosario Dawson, PG), 8/2/2017
Safe Haven (2013), romantic drama thriller (Josh Duhamel, Julianne Hough, PG 13), 8/16/2017
The Pink Panther (1963), comedy drama (David Niven, Peter Sellers, NR), 8/30/2017
Friends of the Libra
Canton Public Library
Saturday, Sep. 9, 8:00 AM-3:00 PM
"Friends of the Library Annual Book Sale," at Canton Public Library. First day schedule as follows: 8:00-9:30 AM, Early Buyer's Sale ($10.00 admission); 10:00 AM-3:00 PM. Regular Book Sale (free admission). Sales takes place in adjacent rooms in the Community Center. Home-baked treats also for sale between 9:00 AM and 3:00 PM. Canton Public Library and Community Center is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. For information: (860) 693-5800 or www.cantonpubliclibrary.org.
Friends of the Libra
Canton Public Library
Sunday, Sep. 10, 11:00 AM-2:00 PM
Fill a bag of books for $10 at the Friends of the Library Annual Book Sale. Canton Public Library and Community Center is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. For Information: (860) 693-5800 or www.cantonpubliclibrary.org
Monday Night Book Cl
Canton Public Library
Monday, Sep. 11, 3:00-4:00 PM
Monday Night Book Club at Canton Public Library will discuss Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly. The true story of how small teams of brilliant, African American women mathematicians, hired to perform the calculations needed to launch aircraft and send men into outer space, opened up barriers of race and sex discrimination at NASA. The author focuses on the stories of four remarkable women, some who made pivotal contributions to the space program and others later leading the practical application of mainframe computers to engineering calculations. Shetterly's well-researched book, "...deftly moves between talking about people and institutions in ways that make the book both a joy to read and an instruction manual for other historians writing the history of technology (theguardian.com)." Copies of the books are available at the library. Newcomers welcome! Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. For information: (860) 693-5800, email bvanness@libraryconnection.info or visit www.cantonpubliclibrary.org.
Town Historian Offic
Canton Public Library
Tuesday, Sep. 12, 4:00-6:00 PM
Ask Town Historian David Leff about his special appointment: Poet in Residence of the New England National Scenic Trail. David will be available to answer questions, assist with research, chat about history, and swap stories about Canton's heritage. No registration required, free. Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. For further information, please call (860) 693-5800 or email illcatn@libraryconnection.info.
September Jr. Book C
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Sep. 13, 6:30 p.m.
or call --860-693-5800.
Ms. Sarah's Junior Book Club meets on the second Wednesday night of every month, at 6:30 p.m.  Each month the group reads the first book in a series meant for early chapter book readers, and then discusses the book, makes a craft, and enjoys a snack together.  Sequels to book of the month are available at the book discussion, as well as next month's book club choice!

In September the group is reading "Super Fly" by Todd Doodler. Not to be confused with the ever-popular Fly Guy series,  this series about the world's smallest superhero is for fans of  "Captain Awesome" and "My Weird School " It's a hilarious new, fully-illustrated series that proves superheroes come in all shapes and sizes.

Sign up ahead, and come and pick up a copy of this month's book at the library in the Children's Room! 
Social Security Expl
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Sep. 20, 6:30 PM-
This free, educational and informational workshop is presented by the Society for Financial Awareness, a not-for-profit organization that seeks to provide financial education to the public. Topics covered: type of social security benefits you are eligible to receive, the difference between full retirement age and delayed retirement, filing for benefits and the effect of taxes on your benefits. The speakers are Chad Burroughs, President of Burroughs Investment Group, and Kathryn Dennen, both independent advisors, with over 32 years of experience in the industry. As frequent speakers on financial planning, they cover topics of the highest interest; retirement income planning as well as investments,  insurance and estate planning. Seating is limited and registration is requested for seating setup. A question and answer session follows. Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. Information: check the website at www.cantonpubliclibrary.org, call (860) 693-5800 or email bvanness@libraryconnection.info.
September PJ StoryTi
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Sep. 20, 6:30 p.m.
or call --860-693-5800.

Accompany Children’s Programmer Sarah Prattson on storytime adventures in your PJ’s! 
Books, songs, a craft, a snack, and a short book-based movie are part of the fun. 

Registration is required,  For children ages 3-8, on Wednesdays at 6:30 p
September PJ StoryTi
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Sep. 20, 6:30 p.m.
or call --860-693-5800.

Accompany Children’s Programmer Sarah Prattson on storytime adventures in your PJ’s! 
Books, songs, a craft, a snack, and a short book-based movie are part of the fun. 

Registration is required,  For children ages 3-8, on Wednesdays at 6:30 p
The Mystery Lovers B
Canton Public Library
Wednesday, Sep. 27, 7:45 PM-
"The Mystery Lovers Book Club," at Canton Public Library, meets at the library at 7:45 pm and goes to a nearby Canton pub or restaurant for our book discussion. The September selection is The Bookman's Wake, by John Dunning. The plot: "Denver cop-turned-bookdealer Cliff Janeway is lured by an enterprising fellow ex-policeman into going to Seattle to bring back a fugitive wanted for assault, burglary, and the possible theft of a priceless edition of Edgar Allan Poe's "The Raven." The bail jumper turns out to be a vulnerable young woman calling herself Eleanor Rigby, who is also a gifted book finder. Janeway is intrigued by the woman -- and by the deadly history surrounding the rare volume. Hunted by people willing to kill for the antique tome, a terrified Eleanor escapes and disappears. To find her -- and save her -- Janeway must unravel the secrets of the book's past and its mysterious maker, for only then can he stop the hand of death from turning another page (simonandschuster.com)." Call or come by to reserve a copy of the book. All are welcome; registration is requested. Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. Information: check the website at www.cantonpubliclibrary.org or call or email Beth Van Ness: (860) 693-5800, and bvanness@libraryconnection.info.
Canton Public Library
Thursday, Sep. 28, 6:30 PM-
"Eco-Friendly Organic Lawn Care" is a free talk aimed at homeowners to be held at Canton Public Library. Learn the latest environmentally responsible methods of assisting your lawn, while protecting groundwater and streams, with Aimee Petras of the Farmington River Watershed Association. Learn how to get your soil tested to discover what it needs to be productive. Hear about best mowing practices, how to use minimal irrigation, lawn life cycle expectations, lawn aeration, and reseeding practices. See the annual "bigger picture" with a lawn care calendar. Registration requested for seating setup. Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton. Information: check the website at www.cantonpubliclibrary.org, call (860) 693-5800, or email bvanness@cantonpubliclibrary.org.
Saturday Book Conver
Canton Public Library
Saturday, Sep. 30, 1:00 PM-
"Saturday Book Conversations" at Canton Public Library reads Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. The winner of the British fiction award, the Man Booker Prize, Wolf Hall is an exceptional work of historical fiction that envelops the reader in the time period of Henry VII in England from the perspective of Thomas Cromwell. "Wolf Hall succeeds on its own terms and then some, both as a non-frothy historical novel and as a display of Mantel's extraordinary talent (theguardian.com)." Visitors and new members are always welcome. Light refreshments served. Call or email for more information: (860) 693-5800, bvanness@libraryconnection.info, or visit www.cantonpubliclibrary.org. Canton Public Library is at 40 Dyer Avenue, Canton.
Powered by engagedpatrons.org Powered by engagedpatrons.org

Canton Public Library * 40 Dyer Avenue * Canton, CT 06019 * 860-693-5800 * Fax 860-693-5804
Email the Library: smccusker@cantonpubliclibrary.org