[ Home ] [ About Us ] [ Digital Resources ] [ Reader Resources ] [ Kids ] [ Teens ] [ Donations ] [ Events ]


Monday - Thursday 10:00-8:00
Friday 10:00-5:30
Sunday Closed

Contact Us
Lester Public Library
1001 Adams Street
Two Rivers, WI 54241




Lester Public Library

Promote Your Page Too
Our most requested websites:


Better Business Bureau

MedlinePlus (our top pick for health information)

IRS/Fed. Tax Forms

Online Phone Directories: Switchboard, Anywho, Big Yellow

Search Engines: Google, Yahoo!

State of Wisconsin

US Government Portal

Wisconsin Consumer Protection

Wisconsin Rental Housing List

Wisconsin JobNet

Wisconsin Tax Forms

Blogging LPL

Read, Discover, Connect, Enrich

Category: Awards

AUGUST 17, 2007
2007 Wisconsin Library Association Annual Award Winners

We are always happy to share good library news!

The Awards & Honors Committee is pleased to announce the 2007 winners of WLA's annual awards:

Wisconsin Library of the Year, Middleton Public Library
Wisconsin Librarian of the Year, Alice Sturzl, Laona School District
Wisconsin Trustee of the Year, Lowell Wilson, Lakeshores Library System
Citation of Merit, Frank Fiorenza, President, Village of Potosi
Highsmith Award, Hedberg Library Friday Family Fun Night, Carthage College, Kenosha
Muriel Fuller Award, Bea Lebal, Director, T.B. Scott Free Library, Merrill

For complete information about these wonderful individuals and programs, go to

Congratulations to all!

Add a comment  (0 comments) posted by Jeff

Categories: AwardsLibrary AdvocacyWisconsin Libraries


JUNE 28, 2007

 New York, NY – June 4, 2007

Fiction, Abridged


Fiction, Unabridged

Rise and Shine

Literary Fiction

The Thirteenth Tale


Echo Park


The Dead Yard


If You Could See Me Now

Science Fiction

The Stolen Child


To Kill a Mockingbird

Non-Fiction, Abridged

The Beatles


Teacher Man

Personal Development/Motivational

For the Love of a Dog: Understanding Emotion in You and Your Best Friend

Business Information/Education

The Long Tail

Children’s Titles for Ages up to 8

Knuffle Bunny

Children’s Titles for Ages 8-11 Listening for Lions


Spoiled Rotten America

Short Stories/Collections

This I Believe

Original Work

Hasidic Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Solo Narration – Male

Peter and the Shadow Thieves

Solo Narration – Female

Add a comment  (0 comments) posted by Jeff

Categories: AwardsAudio Books


JUNE 15, 2007
“The Deadly Embrace” is the winner of the W. Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction for 2007
W.Y. Boyd Literary Award recipient named
CHICAGO –Robert Mrazek’s novel “The Deadly Embrace” is the winner of the W. Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction for 2007. 
The W.Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war.  The $5,000 award and citation, donated by author W.Y. Boyd, recognizes the service of American veterans and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction.
“Robert Mrazek has written an excellent work on a critical period in the Second World War,” said jury chair Robert Schnare.  “It is a very compelling tale that enables the reader to obtain a perspective of what it was really like in war-weary England in the days before the Allied invasion of France on June 6, 1944.”
The intrigue, the tension, and the secrecy surrounding those critical days before the invasion are chronicled through the eyes of American officers, Lieutenant Elizabeth “Liza” Marantz and Major Sam Taggaret.  They must uncover who is killing women who may know the date of the invasion. We follow these two individuals as they battle the British and American chains of command in their effort to uncover the identity of the individual to compromise the invasion.
The author uses his narrative to keep the reader in suspense as Lieutenant Marantz and Major Taggaret race frantically to discover who is behind this conspiracy.   This, according to Schnare, helped depict the stakes that were at risk in keeping the vital secret of the invasion from the Germans in order to save thousands of Allied lives and not alter the course of the war.
Members of the 2007 W.Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award Jury are: Chair, Robert Schnare, Naval War College, Newport, R.I.; Lawrence Clemens, United States Naval Academy, Nimitz Library, Annapolis, Md.; Nancy Davenport, Consultant, Washington, DC; Maxine Reneker, Naval Postgraduate School, Dudley Knox Library, Monterey, Calif.; James Schenkel, Library of Congress, Washington, DC; and Ronald Steensland, Panama City, Fla.
The W.Y. Boyd Literary Award will be presented on Tuesday, June 26, 2007 during the American Library Association Annual Conference in Washington, DC.

Add a comment  (0 comments) posted by Jeff

Categories: Book ReviewsAwards


Subscribe via RSS