Jefferson County Public Library Logo

Books and Beyond Blog Archive
Home Books and Beyond Blog Archive

Books and beyond

JULY 11, 2012
Barbara Cleverly mystery novels
British author Barbara Cleverly’s Joe Sandilands mystery series is set in the heyday of the British Empire. The life and adventures of Commander Sandilands are loosely modeled on a Cleverly family ancestor, whose diaries and anecdotes about the Great War, India during the Raj, and 1920’s Europe form the background for the Sandilands’ mysteries.
The Last Kashmiri Rose, the first book in the series, gives the reader a taste of spicy food, ragtime music, and serial murder as Commander Joe Sandilands of the London Metropolitan Police tries to catch a cunning murderer in Roaring Twenties India. Sandilands, sent to India to solve a delicate case, is far from his home, but rarely at a loss.
Last Kashmiri Rose, published in 2002, received a New York Times “Notable Book” designation.
Mystery writer Cleverly has said of her books, “The clues are sown right at the start of the mystery for the careful reader to spot. I love fooling people and work very hard at it.”
Cleverly, who received the Crime Writers Association Ellis Peters Historical Dagger award in 2004, also writes the Laetitia Talbot archaeological mystery series.


   Add a Comment
Enter your comment below, then click Submit.
Nickname: (displays with your comment)
Enter the letters you see on the left:


Subscribe via RSS